100 Miles by bicycle?

What better day to spend a day in May than riding your bicycle 104 miles? I can’t think of one.

On May 15, 2015, I will ride 104 miles from Beaverton, OR to Pacific City, OR. This will be my third time completing this ride and my most moving experience yet. I’ve previously fund-raised and completed the ride because I like to help a good cause, and because a friend of a friend or a friend’s relative was somehow impacted by a lung illness or breathing complication. But now, it is personal. I will be riding in honor of my dad, who is currently battling stage 4 lung cancer.

I began my training in November, and am working hard to slowly build my distance and climbing capabilities. There are two big hills in RTB. The first is right around mile 20, and the second isn’t until the last quarter of the ride, when your legs are shot, you are giddy or next to tears and are ready to taste the salty air and celebratory brew at the Pelican Pub when you finish the ride.

This December I completed a solo 50 mile ride on a cold but beautiful sunshiny day in Eugene, OR. Most of my training rides are completed on my own. All of my events to date have been done solo. Its not that I wouldn’t like to have a riding buddy or group. So far, I have not found my cycling niche and will continue to screen applicants for cycling buddy #1 and good groups to meet up with for rides.

I have previously completed this ride solo, and am looking forward to having my brother riding the same route this year along with me. We have not yet game planned our strategy as to whether we stick together or one pushes ahead. But, I am proud of us for taking on this challenge and riding in honor of our dad and to raise funds for such a good cause.

Here is a link to the official Reach the Beach website in case you would like to read about what the ride entails, sign up to participate or get more information about the ride or the American Lung Association. http://action.lung.org/site/TR/Bike/ALAMP_Mountain_Pacific?pg=entry&fr_id=9210

You can also visit my personal Reach the Beach webpage here: http://action.lung.org/goto/emilym

Here is a link to my location on Strava.  http://www.strava.com/athletes/runbikewin  This month I have signed up to complete the Gran Fondo 100km challenge. Now I just need to choose a weekend, gear up and get on the road!

What are some of your cycling goals? Have you tackled a century? Do you have tips for riding with a partner? Do you see a benefit to riding solo over in a group and vice versa?

Leave a Reply

